When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

Dream details for those who are bored.....

Justasgood

First let me say that I have been collecting watches for well over 20 years. There was a time when I could buy vintage watches by the boxful at any Pawn shop.....now they act like big time Jewelers......anywho.......I have owned over 15 Various Rolex watches most of them subs and a Few Datejusts. The Sub, in my humble opinion, is the perfect watch......remember, that's just my opinion. The vintage subs have always held a very strong attraction namely the 5513.

My rep collecting began when I discovered this site.....or the old site......well, you get my meaning. Speaking of meaning, my login tells the whole story......let's be honest, aren't the Swiss ETA reps "Justasgood?.....well, almost.

So after many low end ETA subs, I discovered the MBW's....and I can't get enough.......vintage Sub MBW's of course.......modding them to within mm's of perfection was the challenge, but just as others have discovered.....you can make 'em look Gen.....you can even use gen parts......but what really makes a Rolex a Rolex......is the movement.

Fast forward.......just as Predfan has been seeking the perfect 5513.....so have I....... so now a start to my quest......an MBW 5513 Gilt with Poor dial and ETA Movement

Next; Gen Vintage Gilt 5513/5512 dial....may as well dream big...worth every dollar as you'll hear

018.jpg

Now a donor watch with a period correct movement....... along comes a 1961 Oyster Perpetual...I Paid $800.00...again, worth every $$

opcloseup.jpg

opmovement.jpg

Fun with the Donors:

011-1.jpg

Well, all was going well. The MBW case was modded, Gen tube, Gen Crown, Gen Complete NOS bezel assembly,Gen insert and Gen Bracelet were added. The lugholes were modded and gen springbars installed:

049.jpg