When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
  • Current Donation Goals

How to make your dial to look "vintage"

stealthy

Hi.

I'm a noob here and trying my best to learn from this forum.

(So, please be kind :rolleyes: )

Well, I am big fan of vintage rolex submariner and sea-dweller.

I bought this beautiful vintage double red sea-dweller from "Trusty" or Andrew.

I love this watch, but...

The lume of the dial is looking brand new and glossy and the printed letters on dial also shiny and glossy.

I want to make this watch look real vintage.

I guess I need to make the dial matte and lume to not-glossy.

I tried to search this forum with keyword such as "vintage", "wear-out", "dial" but

I could not find right guide or pictorial how to make a dial look vintage or worn-out.

So can somebody help me find right post for this issue?

Thank! and Happy Chinese New Year to all members in this forum.

As I recently learned in another thread here, first for the general wear and tear, a 30+yr old watch will have some dings. Try the "coin treatment" put in in your pocket with a bunch of coins to add some scratches etc.... If you want a weathered look to the exterior.

Finally, my experience with some rep dials, and hanging my arm out the car window, is the sun light does a wonderful job of fading the dial. You may not have the time or sunlight (where I live we get 300+ days of sun), but maybe a strong UV light source....

If you are willing and able to disassemble the watch, an old "Hollywood" trick to reduce luster is hair spray. Obviously you would only want to hit the dial. I can NOT vouch for this on a watch however. Props and cars yes...

Just some random thoughts. I am sure the pros will chime in soon.

-Ronin

• Like 1